top of page
  • hdickinson46

Concussion Helmet (9/29/22)



In our innovation class this week we were told to research concussions. We learned the symptons, treatments, and how we can prevent them. After writing a four-hundred word paper on what we had learned about concussions, we began to create a helmet to prevent a concussion.

We were assigned a project to do an egg drop with the safety of a self-made "helmet". Our helmet had to be 4" x 4" x 4" and could not cover the entire egg (the face must be visible). We would be given the raw egg fifteen minutes before dropping time and were only allowed to use certain materials. For example, we could use glue, foam, paper, cardboard, fabric, cotton, straws, and etc.


As seen in the video above, after dropping my egg it sadly cracked. My helmet was made of a straw exterior with cotton balls in the interior to act as cushioning. Since my helmet mostly covered only on side of the egg, when it fell it ended up flipping and landing on the unprotected side.


I think if I wouldve had the exterior cover more of the egg, it wouldn't have mattered how the egg landed. When we were told it had to be 4 x 4 and all, I thought that meant the parashoot idea would not be allowed. If I would have known, that would have been my final helmet.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page